The Hand of Ragnaros

A while back, I noticed my guild did not have the guild achievement for obtaining Sulfuras, Hand of Ragnaros, Raggy’s’ legendary weapon. I decided to make this my new side project, since I’d been meaning to start running Molten Core anyway for easy gold and transmog gear. Well, I got extraordinarily lucky and nabbed an Eye of Sulfuras (a rare drop from Rags) after only a few runs, and realized that holy crap, this was actually within reach! A guildmate already had the Blacksmithing pattern to make the Sulfuron Hammer, so all that was left now was to farm up the materials required to craft it, combine it with the Eye, and presto, my first Legendary weapon!

Of course, those materials proved rather elusive. The Sulfuron Ingots only drop from two of Molten Core’s bosses, and rarely at that, so I was limited to two chances a week (per character). The other rare material, Blood of the Mountain, was a little better – they have a low chance of dropping from specific MC trash mobs, but these mobs respawn after half an hour, even if Ragnaros has been killed. So I’d head in, kill only these mobs, then log out and go do something else on another character for a while, then go back and kill the trash again, etc. I also caved at the end and bought a few Ingots off the Auction House, and got a few from guildies. Thank goodness they’re not Bind-on-Pickup!

Now obviously, I knew I didn’t just want to log on, create Sulfuras, then go about my day like normal. This was a special occasion! Not only was it a significant guild achievement, but this was a LEGENDARY WEAPON. This was serious business.

Time for a special transmog outfit.

I looked at the hammer model (which is extremely nice, considering it’s from Vanilla), and immediately knew the vibrant gold, orange and red colors would be the basis for my outfit. I thought of the Lightforge armor set, which uses those colors exactly, but discounted it for a few reasons. One, it would be nearly impossible for me to acquire the full set, since the pieces don’t actually drop anymore, and it would take me months of grinding Darkmoon Faire dailies to earn enough tokens to buy the full replica set. Two, I don’t mind using a piece of two from a set, but something I try to avoid as much as possible is using entire sets. There are so many different items in the game, and I feel it’s such a waste to simply use a pre-designed set rather than mixing-and-matching and coming up with your own unique look!

Make no mistake, this outfit is BRIGHT. I wanted to be the personification of Sulfuras itself, gleaming and fiery. Like the weapon, I didn’t want too much gold or too much red – it had to be a careful balance, with alternating colors.

One of the things I noticed while taking the screenshots was that the outfit actually has a fourth, secret color – rich black. It’s not even that Sulfuras has black areas, really, so much as it has intense levels of contrast. And when you put a sharp, vivid red alongside burnished gold, you naturally get intense areas of deep shadow and heavy shading. Combine this effect with Morgion’s black hair, and black highlights on her tabard and helm, and you get some quiet, understated dark tones. These match up very nicely with the molten rock and blackened granite so commonly found in both Molten Core and Ragnaros’ palace in the Firelands.

Here are the pieces that went into the look. None of them are that hard to acquire, with the obvious exception of Sulfuras. The only BoE drops are the Conqueror’s pieces, and those are extremely easy to find on the Auction House (although they can sometimes be pricey.)

Added bonus? No raid groups required! Not even for Sulfuras, since you don’t need a raid group if you get warped in by the NPC.

Head: Faceguard of Determination
Shoulders: Pristine Lightforge Spaulders or Replica Lightforge Spaulders
Back: Cloak of the Betrayed or Cloak of Impulsiveness
Chest: Conqueror’s Breastplate
Hands: Replica Lightforge Gauntlets
Waist: Girdle of Gallantry
Legs: Conqueror’s Legplates
Feet: Magma Tempered Boots
Tabard: Tabard of the Wyrmrest Accord
Shirt: Red Workman’s Shirt
Weapon: Sulfuras, Hand of Ragnaros
Pet: Phoenix Hatchling

Alternates:
Back: Phoenix-Wing Cloak
Tabard: Orgrimmar Tabard, Thrallmar Tabard, Ironforge Tabard
Pet: Lil’ Ragnaros, Searing Scorchling

Funny story: The Phoenix Hatchling fits the look perfectly, and I only happened to get it as I was chasing other pieces for this set! I was doing Magister’s Terrace to get the Cloak of the Betrayed, and figured hey, I’m already here, I may as well just finish off the place. And lo and behold – Phoenix Hatchling!

If that’s not the game telling you it approves of your transmog choice, I don’t know what is. ;)

5 thoughts on “The Hand of Ragnaros

  1. Magister’s Terrace is very much judgmental about people’s fashion. I still don’t know what to make of what happened to me. I made a set for my blood elf warlock using the Scarlet Sin’dorei Robes off heroic Kael’thas, finally got it last night after three weeks of beating him up everyday. The weird part is the OTHER stuff Kael dropped. During these runs I saw a total of four white hawkstriders and three phoenix pets drop. This became notorious enough that a few friends dubbed me the “chicken whisperer.” Another one also insisted I take her along everyday so she could get one, and she did in fact see it drop a couple days later.

    Seriously, how does a 1% drop rate mount become more common than a 20% drop rate dress?

    • simple because its not a 1% drop rate mount. My friend got it on his 4th run I got it on my 10th You can say RNG is RNG…and thats true. But I’ve not heard of anyone not getting it in less than around 10 runs. just looked it up. Wow armory lists the mount at a 4-12% drop rate. Pretty high.

  2. I loooove this! And the shots you got of the outfit look sooo good. Man, I need to make a new transmog outfit tonight. (Every day I’m transmoggin’…)

    Thanks for the inspiration, as always! ;D

  3. Your luck with the Eye of Sulfuras makes me cry very bitterly. 3 years of slightly irregular farming and still no drop ;(

Leave a Reply

