Two for the Price of One

Originally, when I went to make a gear set for my Death Knight, I wanted to make something thematically dark and… death knighty. Of course, that seems the norm for ALL the DK sets, but I also wanted to do so without looking like a skeleton (or like bloody Colonel Sanders), so that made things a bit more interesting. Another thing i’ve noticed, in all of the posts listed here, very few of them are for plate classes. There’s quite a bit of cloth and leather, and maybe one or two mail wearers.

UNHOLY SET

This first set is for my dps set. It’s pretty easy to get (all told, maybe 1000 honor) but it’s a pretty unique looking set. It’s also unusual in the fact that it was the last pvp set released in Burning Crusade, even though Death Knights weren’t a playable race in BC. I felt especially drawn to this set as my DPS spec is unholy, and the sickly-green glow from the helm/shoulders is especially fitting. The weapon is unmog’d becauseI feel like  it’s one of the better weapon models out of this expansion, and it fits with the gladiator look.

Helm: Brutal Gladiator’s Dreadplate Helm
Shoulders: Brutal Gladiator’s Dreadplate Shoulders
Chest: Brutal Gladiator’s Dreadplate Chestpiece
Bracers: irrelevant, as they’re hidden by gloves
Hands: Brutal Gladiator’s Dreadplate Gauntlets
Belt: Guardian’s Plate Belt
Legs: Brutal Gladiator’s Dreadplate Legguards
Feet: Guardian’s Plate Greaves
Weapon: Axe of the Tauren Chieftans

Full Set viewable on Wowhead

BLOOD SET

This next set happened purely by accident in an achievement run with my guildies in Ulduar 25. I actually won the head, chest, shoulders, and legs off of almost consecutive bosses, and I thought they just looked amazing together, so I went to build a set from them. The legs/shoulders/helm are a t8 off-color, and I really liked the red from the weapon and shoulders thematically, as this was gear for my blood spec. The gloves, boots, and belt I picked up for a miniscule amount of JP from vendors in dalaran to complete the theme. The gloves DO have skulls on them, but as the entire set isn’t skull-covered-skulls with skull inlays and skull-shaped gems, I felt it was acceptable.

Helm: Iron Riveted War Helm
Shoulders: Shoulderplates of the Eternal
Chest: Unbreakable Chestguard
Bracers: irrelevant, as they’re hidden by gloves
Gloves: Hateful Gladiator’s Dreadplate Gauntlets
Belt: Shieldwarder Girdle
Legs: Clockwork Legplates
Boots: Plague-Impervious Boots
Weapon: Brutal Gladiator’s Bonegrinder

Full Set viewable on Wowhead

3 thoughts on “Two for the Price of One

  1. I does like the Brutal Gladiator plate look (and all it’s various recolorings). Me team’s holy paladin (also a dranaenannini) be currentlies workin’ on finishin’ her set.

Leave a Reply

