The Fashionable Twink: Mail Edition

It’s interesting to see the way an idea for a blog post evolves.  I started with a simple premise: could you use transmog on a trial account?  What gear would be available to you?  How hard would it be to do under the restrictions placed on a trial account (10g limit, no AH, no mail, no trades or trade chat, professions capped at 100)?  I added a starter account to my Battle.net to give it a try.

Then I decided to mog my level 22 former-twink rogue.  Mogging seven pieces of gear cost me 7g.  That’s quite a lot of change when you can’t have more than 10g on your character and can’t mail yourself more gold.  I still haven’t found out if you can use transmog on a starter account, but when you look at the fact that you can’t browse the AH for greens, can’t ask other players to make you gear, and can only get so far in professions, mogging begins to seem a little out of reach for a starter account.

And that's not even covering the stupidly expensive-to-mog heirloom head and cloak...

That’s not to say it’s impossible, but for the sake of my sanity I decided to expand my options a little bit.  I had a brief fling with twinking a while back, but gave up on it when I realized I was more interested in gathering BiS level 19 gear than I was actually PVP-ing at that level.  Twinks — with their (often) well-funded mains to back them up — would be an ideal group for mogging under level 20.  Plus, the same outfit advice would work for trial account players, though it might be more difficult for those players to obtain certain items.

I’ve done two outfits for each armor type: one using all quest gear and dungeon drops for the starter accounts and thrifty types, and another relying heavily on BOE greens in case your toon had already done the quests needed for the first outfit (or if you’d rather hit the AH than the quest hubs).  This post goes out to all of you playing lowbie warriors and paladins, ’cause I’m showing you what you can do with mail.

Our first model is Shandrin, a nelf warrior I rolled to go see the Faction Five competition on Tichondrius.  I started with Jessera’s Fungus Lined Hauberk, as it was one of the more distinctive chest pieces available to level 19s.  Unfortunately, it’s also Alliance-only but good matches for Horde toons are the Emberstone Breastplate or the Darkmoon Chain Shirt.  The shirt pictured is a Golden Filigreed Doublet from Dalaran, but using a shirt is entirely optional as the set looks quite good without it.  If you really want a shirt but don’t want to spend too much, Alliance players or those who have access to the neutral AH can use  the Bright and Bold Yellow Shirts instead.

Shandrin’s Set

View in 3D

Frazzley is normally a prot warrior as well, but she agreed to pull out her fury spec for modeling purposes.  Once again I started with the chest, this time using the Silvermoon Armor that drops from Fenissa the Assassin, a rare mob on Bloodmyst Isle.  Of all the level 19 chest pieces, it’s easily the most eye-catching (and one I’ve had a love affair with for a while).  Fenissa is also hostile to Horde, so you can attempt to farm her. However, this being the moneybags option for twink mail the easier option would be to buy it on the Alliance AH and shift it over the neutral AH to your awaiting twink.

Frazzley’s Set

View in 3D

I used the Raider Shortsword to mog both her weapons largely because her current weapons are swords and they didn’t clip into the ground when sheathed, but other great weapons for this set are Baron’s Scepter (1H Mace), Deadmines Cleaver (1H axe), and Haunting Blade (2H sword).

Next up on The Fashionable Twink, we’ll be showing off some great lowbie leather armor, so stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “The Fashionable Twink: Mail Edition

  1. There are pretty much only a few mail shoulder models available at this level, and that’s counting the mail heirlooms. I really like what you’ve done here with the lowbies – mogging is hard enough without the added stress of having such a limited selection!

    That Silvermoon outfit is badass, too. I have been lamenting that I can’t keep the starter gear from my blood elf warriors – now I may have to reconsider that.

    • At this level, shoulders are worse than belts due to the scarcity of models. Most of my planning started with “This is a cool chest piece, are there any shoulders that work with it? No? OK, next chest piece…” The nice thing is that a lot of the available quest gear matches; the hard part is making an outfit stand out and look unique (something I’ll be talking a little more about in the leather gear post).

      I too love the starter gear on the blood elf warrior, which is why I kind of defaulted to making that chest piece work for this project. Admittedly, I love all of the Silvermoon-themed chests that Fenissa drops, and it’s been really difficult not using the leather and cloth pieces for those posts 😉

Leave a Reply

